Vitamin We #11: Kelly's Happy Tension at Cannes Lions

Answering the Call of a Wild Opportunity

Hi everyone, Happy July!

A warm welcome to everyone who has just joined us - We are overjoyed to have you onboard! 🥰

A lot has been happening behind the scene at the We team in the last two months; one of the highlights is, of course, our co-founder Kelly’s LIVE NFT art illustration on stage at Cannes Lions, which the piece she created will be dropped to all attendees (what a brilliant NFT use case)!

Obviously, the We team will keep bragging about Kelly’s amazing milestone because she is awesome 😁 - but our intention of sharing Kelly’s story here today is not about her - but about YOU!

Because if wild opportunities can happen to her, it could definitely happen to YOU as well!!!

As opportunity knocks on your door out of the blue, how do you respond?

Well, expect a whirlwind of emotions to begin with…

Continue reading as Kelly walks you through her inner journey with her story, and on this beautiful full moon🌕, get yourself emotionally and energetically prepared as you visualize and manifest yours as if you were her…

Feature Story

“My Happy Tension Illustrating LIVE at Cannes Lions!”

My first time at Cannes Lions surpassed all my expectations, transporting me to a world of creativity and opportunities that I had only imagined in my wildest dreams. Ever since I became an illustrator two years ago, I have always yearned to work with the world's most recognized brands, the ones that leave an indelible mark on our minds and hearts with their memorable logos and slogans. They are the brands that convey happiness and the promise of just doing it all.

Throughout my career, I had the privilege of collaborating with some of the biggest brands, but I never imagined what it would be like to create LIVE for the creative geniuses behind these enormous companies and be seen on the main stage of the world's most important creativity event, Cannes Lions.

When World of Women reached out to me to offer this exceptional opportunity, my emotions were mixed in a whirlwind of nervousness and excitement. An inner voice whispered, 'Me? Do I truly deserve this?'. Impostor syndrome threatened to take over, but my partner, Pol, was my anchor in that moment of doubt. Together, we recalled the hard work and passion I put into every piece I shared with the world. It was time to believe in myself.

Despite the certainty in my heart, a series of fears took hold of me. How would it be to be surrounded by giants of the creative industry? After all, I was a stranger to them. I worried about feeling uncomfortable or not having enough confidence to give my best on stage.

The week leading up to my trip to Cannes was a whirlwind of emotions. At some point in the chaos, I managed to convince myself that somehow I was the chosen one for this opportunity. The Universe had conspired in my favor, and I just had to pay attention and follow the signs to create a piece destined to play a significant role in this momentous event.

I can't exactly describe how those days before my departure unfolded, but I remember spending long hours immersed in my thoughts. Finally, I picked up the pencil and began sketching my ideas. It was as if something else took control and guided my hand. The piece almost took shape by itself, but before considering it complete, I sought Pol's opinion. With love and sincerity, he told me it lacked a more personal touch.

Although it hurt and angered me at first, that comment became my motivation to work even harder. I dedicated additional hours to creating a spectacular piece, and I even surprised myself with the result. This time, I didn't allow self-sabotage to get in my way.

Finally, the days passed, and the moment of truth arrived, the moment to present my work to the eyes of the Cannes Lions attendees.

I stepped onto the stage, and my heart was beating a mile a minute.

Kelly experiencing her "happy tension" as she walked onto the stage

I felt both immense and small in front of a room full of creatives. I took my seat next to the stage and let my hands move on their own.

Time ran out, and suddenly, my work was projected onto the big screen:

THIS is the NFT that all attendees will get! (Screenshot taken while watching Livestream)

The applause and the gazes of the speakers confirmed that I had succeeded. For a few seconds that seemed eternal, I felt how my effort and work condensed into a moment filled with greatness.

After my presentation, I was overwhelmed by a wave of happiness and satisfaction. I approached the giants of the creative industry and shook their hands with a smile full of gratitude.

I was surprised by the kindness and genuine interest with which they treated me. There, in that dreamlike stage, I realized that I was leaving behind my past experiences of feeling small and insignificant. Instead, I opened my heart to the possibility of something wonderful and felt part of something much larger than myself.

As I walked away from Cannes, carrying with me the most wonderful experience of my life, I reflected on the lesson I had learned:

Abundance knows no limits, and I had been limiting myself.

My participation in Cannes Lions opened my eyes to a world of infinite possibilities. Now, I have new friendships in the industry, and my self-confidence has reached new heights. I will continue to dream even bigger because I know there is so much more to live and explore.

In my heart, I hold eternal gratitude for life and, especially, the teams at World of Women and Mastercard for their support, enthusiasm, and tireless efforts to make this unforgettable moment possible. Their belief in me and my art has inspired me to move forward and share my voice and creativity with the world.

 Some morales of Kelly’s story that I derive from her sharings:

  1. Keep submitting to art contests and applying for opportunities that you feel called to! Even if you didn’t win, the seeds you’ve planted with your submission could bring you surprising opportunities like this!

  2. As Kelly said, abundance knows no limits, don’t let your current reality limits your imagination - and - EXPECT the Universe to surprise you in a good way!

  3. For months, the We team has been sitting on the uncertainty of how we are going to make it work - after all, we’ve been pouring our labor of love for over one year non-stop! This milestone of Kelly gave us FAITH that as we keep showing up, responding to what & who feels right, AND ENJOYING THE PROCESS, we must grow🌻!

  4. NFTs aren’t dying!!!

We hope this story gives you inspiration, motivation, and HOPE to keep going on your creative journey!

Until next time,

together with Kelly, Pol & Deva @We